5 Comments

Bands I really, really, really, really, really hate

Manic Street Preachers, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Radiohead, Nirvana, U2, Coldplay, The Smiths, Supergrass, Super Furry Animals, Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Alice in Chains, Soundgarden, Fugazi, The Libertines, Arctic Monkeys, Jane’s Addiction, Rage Against the Machine, Limp Bizkit, Slipknot, Korn, Suede, Keane, Snow Patrol, Travis.

About bobfrombrockley

South London family man. Eating bacon bagels on the 171 bus, listening to Johnny Cash while reading Hannah Arendt, the kid next to me playing dubstep on his telephone. Mostly politics at http://brockley.blogspot.com and mostly music at https://bobsbeat.wordpress.com

5 comments on “Bands I really, really, really, really, really hate

  1. i hear a pattern. guitar bands marketed to teenagers as an alternative to the mainstream, by major labels or publications. and i can hear how these irk. most of the british bands you list here (the smiths especially) are loathsome for additional reasons (insipid, a little bit racist) but i think the manics are sometimes wonderful (the holy bible, hundereds of live motown covers) and i won’t hear a bad word said about pearl jam! ever. why do you hate them? they’re great!

  2. I won’t let on, but I like 2 from the top, all of the second line (ouch!), 1 from the third line and, thankfully, none from the last line. But I won’t let on, I promise.

  3. Pearl Jam: I hate the turgid chuggy-ness of the stadium rock riffs, the bombast, the shorts and plaid shirts, the gruff macho vocals, as well as the fanaticism of the fans.

    Sample lyrics:

    Can I forgive what I
    Cannot forget
    And live a lie
    I could give it one more try

    or

    I remember when, yeah. I swore I knew everything, oh yeah. Let’s say knowledge is a tree, yeah. It’s growing up just like me, yeah

    What pompous, infantile nonsense.

    • ok. not their finest lyrical moment, but theres loads of great story telling in their music and even when the content is a little meaningless, even infantile, eddie vedder’s voice is remarkable. and i love both bombastic 70s rock style riffs and their fidelity to flannel. the self loathing it would entail also prohibits me from recoiling at the fanaticism of their followers.

  4. […] posts from my archive. Here’s one from May 2008, a sunnier year than 2012. It partly explains this post. You’ll be pleased to know that, thanks in part to the evil rentiers, I have since moved […]

Leave a Reply

